Understanding climate
for the benefit of society

icon climate hazards


Extreme events and abrupt changes to the climate system.


Research focus


We focus on understanding the causes and dynamics of extreme events and abrupt changes in the climate system, including identifying critical thresholds, understanding how such events develop, and what consequences they have. Furthermore, we are working towards improving predictions of the likelihood, extent and impact of climate hazards, and are collaborating with stakeholders in private and public sectors.


Some of our research questions are:

  • How will gradual climate change and thresholds in the climate system impact the frequency and severity of climate hazards?
  • How does internal climate variability contribute and influence the extremes? How does model bias influence the prediction of extremes?
  • Will the current committed warming trigger abrupt changes in sea level rise due to ice sheet collapse? 
  • What can we learn from extreme events, circulation changes, and warm climates of the past?
  • To what extent can society and industry adapt to extreme events, including flooding, sea level high stands, landslides and storms? 

Keywords: Tipping points, extreme weather, sea level rise, abrupt climate changes, glacier stability. 


Strategic projects 

RISES, Quantifying and understand rates of ice sheet change. Leader Petra Langebroek and Anna Hughes.


CHEX, Climate hazards and extremes. Leaders Asgeir Sorteberg and Lu Li.



tyfon i mexicogolfen, satellittbilde

Climate Hazards research group


Research leader
Stephen Outten 



Øivind Bergh

Antonio Bonaduce

Rocio Castaño-Primo

David Chandler

Francois Counillon

Basile de Fleurian

Laura Dietrich

Trond Dokken

Vivian Felde

Heiko Goelzer

Haflidi Haflidason

Jenny Sjåstad Hagen

Paul Halas

Johannes Hardeng

Karita Kajanto

Erik Kolstad

Kjersti Konstali

Petra Langebroek

Lu Li

Henriette Linge

Jan Mangerud

Fabio Mangini

Stephanie Mayer

Atle Nesje

Øyvind Paasche

Marie Pontoppidan

Kristin Richter

Sunniva Rutledal

Annette Samuelsen

Alistair Seddon

Rannveig Skoglund

Asgeir Sorteberg

Jørund Strømsøe

Eivind Støren

John-Inge Svendsen

Thomas Thuesen

Tamara Trofimova

Talin Tuestad

Kristian Vasskog

Sonja Wahl

Daniele Zannoni

Tobias Zolles